My first time

lifestyle

Hey guys, Celestes here!

Again, I’m opening a new rubric on our blog! This rubric will center around all of our “first times” experiencing something new. No matter, whether it’s a new restaurant, sports we practice, cultures we discover, bands or persons we hear or see for the first time, basically everything that’s new for us! But I actually call on all my fellow bloggers to join this rubric! I’m keen on reading all your entries!

So today I’m writing about My first time “experiencing” Poetry Slam.

20140728_222612[1]

You probably all know what it is, since it has been popular for a few years now. For everyone who doesn’t: It’s a kind of contest in which authors “battle” each other reading out their self-written texts. They’re not allowed to sing or use any kind of requisites, meaning no parrots, special clothing etc. The performance of each candidate should be no more than 5 minutes and are normally carried out one after another. In the end there’s mostly one winner, but the Poetry Slam contest I went to was , how they described themselves, the ” Ponyhof unter den Poetry Slam Wettbewerben” (meaning: the pony yard of the poetry slam contests) . There was no loser but only winners , which I think was a really nice idea !

It was actually a pretty spontaneous decision to try it out. A good friend asked, whether I would like to go with her and her cousin and I said yes. The Poetry Slam contest was located in some kind of pub, in the heart of Berlin – Mitte, one of the trendy districts of Berlin, next to Kreuzberg, Friedrichshain and Prenzlauer Berg. The pub was pretty cozy. It was quite dark and hot, since it were like 26°C outside and the windows were closed and darkened. Nevertheless I felt really comfortable. The majority had to sit on benches, but we were sitting in one of the corners in the back at a table, since we got there early we had pretty much luck.

20140728_222623[1]

 

The performances of the authors were absolutely amazing. They were funny, thoughtful and simply amusing !  My stomach hurt from laughing too much. All the people, even the hosts, were very talented and sympathetic. In the end I even bought a book of one of the participants.
My conclusion: Definitely worth a try ! Just google it to see if there is an upcoming Poetry Slam contest nearby and have fun !

xo Celestes

2 thoughts on “My first time

  1. How exciting. I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to actually get up and do it but I’d love to be there and experience it for sure. I’m your newest follower and would love for you to check out my blog at http://www.tairaxo.com I look forward to your visit :)

    Like

What's on your mind?

