Lip Rescue

lifestyle

Hi everyone,

we’re slowly getting into the colder months, which doesn’t only mean that it’s time to get those sweaters and other kinds of knitwear out (my favorite!), but that the air gets drier as well.

I personally love fall but hate it when my lips, which are dry anyway, turn to a chapped desert soil.

I’ve gone through all kinds of “lip wonders” during the years, so I’m showing you a selection of what I’ve been trying lately.

Lip Rescue


Blistex MedPlus, 7 ml

The cheapest product of all I’m going to show you today.
It contains Menthol and Camphor and is therefore supposed to have a soothing and calming effect. Besides, it claims to be an intensive lip care as well as protection, as it has SPF.
This lip balm has a very medical and slightly minty smell to it – I personally don’t like this smell a lot. However, it is definitely a fast solution for dry lips, as it sinks in relatively fast and gives a small moisture boost to the lips. When applying, it goes on quite wet, although it is solid in the pot, and unlike the usual lip balm.
I guess that this lip balm might be a good one for anyone out there with relatively normal lips, that don’t tend to dry out as much. But for me this is definitely not enough – especially not during the cold months, as I feel that this is no long-lasting moisturization.

 

Carmex Classic Moisturising Lip Balm, 8.4 ml (7.5g)
This one was my favorite so far!
Besides Menthol and Camphor, which ensure a cooling effect, Carmex contains Lanolin, beeswax and cocoa butter, which are responsible for the deep moisturization and prevent any drying-out.
Carmex has a relatively medical smell as well, which I had to get used to in the beginning. It has a more solid formula compared to Blistex, so it goes on thicker and waxier, which actually feels more moisturizing in the first place.
I really like Carmex, which is why it is my go-to lip product. I really like to use it as a base underneath lipstick or as a deep moisturization overnight or after a nice lip scrub. It is very affordable as well, so I’ll definitely always come back to it! A big downer however is, that it doesn’t contain any SPF. I hope this will change soon!

Lip Rescue

EOS Smooth Sphere Lip Balm in Strawberry Sorbet, 0.25 z (7g)
This one is quite hard to get in Europe, but I got it last summer when I was in the States.
The EOS lip balms are 95% organic, 100% natural and paraben and petrolatum free. This one contains vitamin E, Shea butter and jojoba oil, which are supposed to make this product very nourishing and moisturizing.
Strawberry Sorbet smells and tastes very sweet and fruity – the texture is even more solid and waxier than Carmex. It moisturizes, but not outstandingly well in my opinion. Anyway, I really like the concept of a natural and organic lip care. EOS has a great selection of lip balms in almost every flavor and color, which, besides the extremely cute packaging, makes the product very appealing to me. I do own Pomegranate Raspberry as well because I couldn’t resist this adorable small egg of lip balm.

 

L’Occitane Moisturizing Lip Balm 10% Shea Butter, 15 ml
Now let’s get a little more pricy here.
This L’Occitane lip balm includes 10% of fair trade Shea butter, which is supposed to help moisturize, repair and protect dry and chapped lips. 100% of the ingredients are from natural origin, 26% from Organic Farming and 10% are Fair Trade.
This lip balm smells quite unique to me, maybe it’s the Shea butter. It has a light texture, which is almost a hybrid between cream and gel.
It is very moisturizing, so definitely a recommendation in case you’re interested in a natural lip balm with organic and fair trade ingredients and don’t mind spending a little more!

 

NUXE Rêve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm, 0.52 oz (15g)
The most expensive lip balm I own at the moment; and – no doubt – the best I’ve ever tried!
You may know this one already from my last trip to Paris: This lip balm, which includes honey, plant oils, Shea butter and grapefruit essence, nourishes, repairs, soothes, protects and moisturizes the lips.
It smells really citrusy and fresh and goes on really smoothly and creamy. I immediately felt a huge moisture boost when I first applied it – and it was definitely a long-lasting one!
What I also really like about this product is that the packaging it came with was made out of reusable and recyclable material and printed using vegetable-based inks. All in all, NUXE has reduced the amount of paper used for this product by 50% and participates in the protection of bees. Wow!

Lip Rescue
As you may have noticed, almost all of these lip products are in a small pot. I just find that lip balms as such are a bit more moisturizing than the stick versions. However, pots are quite inconvenient to throw in your handbag, so I do own the stick forms available of some lip balms as well.

I probably got a little lip product addicted, so there is not going to be an end in testing lip balms yet! I really want to try Dior’s Crème de Rose, Fresh’s Sugar lip balms as well as The Body Shop’s Aloe Lip Treatment. I will definitely get my hands on Korres’ Lip Butter soon, so stay tuned for some posts on lip products in the future!

 

Yours,
N.| lifeiscreative

3 thoughts on “Lip Rescue

  1. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb
    blog!

    Like

What's on your mind?

